Document Actions

You are here: Home Research

Tradition Meets Excellence


Superior achievements need a strong community: The University of Freiburg has been the scientific home of ten Nobel laureates and thirteen Leibniz Prize recipients to date.


Research Institutes of the Faculties
Research Centers
Excellence Initiative
FRIAS (Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies)
BIOSS (Centre for Biological Signalling Studies)
SGBM (Spemann Graduate School of Biology and Medicine)
IGA (International Graduate Academy)
Graduate Schools and Research Training Groups
Graduate Programs: 1 DFG-funded graduate school, 10 DFG-funded research training groups, 8 State-funded doctoral programs, and a variety of other structured programs for doctoral researchers.
Collaborative Research Centers
The university currently hosts 13 Collaborative Research Centers, in which a group of researchers collaborates for an extended period of time on an interdisciplinary research program (funded by the German Research Foundation).
Priority Programs